• The Savvy SEO
  • Posts
  • 02: How to Build an SEO Strategy (In Hours, Not Months)

02: How to Build an SEO Strategy (In Hours, Not Months)

My process to build your own SEO strategy.

A huge thank you to our sponsors who keep this newsletter free:  

SEOWind, run by Tom Winter, is changing the game for drafting blog article outlines & AI content creation. Only 1 year into growth & I’ve been super impressed with their capabilities. My team and I use it regularly. Try it out for free.

Sup savvy people?!

SEO is my jam & I’ve used it to scale my businesses to 6, 7, and 8 figures. But it’s hard to make progress without a great plan in place.

I did that for my first years of SEO & it held me back.

Never again!

Unfortunately, a LOT of SEOs and marketers still overlook an SEO strategy. And it ends up hurting their abilities to optimize their SEO growth.

Today, I’ll give you my process for setting up an SEO strategy.

Let’s get into it!

Step 1: Analyze your website

Use Ahrefs and ScreamingFrog to analyze:

  • Site performance

  • Current content

  • Keyword traffic

  • Opportunities

Step 2: Research keywords

Build content pillars & clusters w/ Ahrefs & by thinking like your ICP.

Create keyword clusters w/ KeywordInsights.ai.

Step 3: Plan your content

Steal titles & topics from 1st page SERPs

Make briefs w/ SEOWind & templates in WP.

Create meta data.

Make drafts.

Step 4: Write the content

If you're a Writer and aren't ready to hire Writers yet, create the content.

Aim for quality over quantity.

Option 1: Recruit writers

Find Writers w/ expertise in your industry.

Assign w/ due dates in Trello or ClickUp.

Optional bc you can write yourself too.

Option 2: Use Byword or ChatGPT4

Believe in AI?

Get inspiration w/ SEOWind, Byword.ai or ChatGPT4.

Then edit so that its in your voice & adds real value.

Step 5: Edit & publish content

Run the content through Grammarly.

Use my 25 step SEO checklist to fully optimize.

Publish. Don't delay.

Step 6: Measure the results

Analyze Ahrefs data.

Track key metrics monthly.

Step 7: Optimize your content

Upgrade blogs ranked #5 to #20 on Google.

Build an optimization checklist to use.

Use AlsoAsked.

Target Snippets.

Step 8: Build quality backlinks

Use HARO & Featured.

Build links w/ industry partners.

Run a backlink outreach process.

Set up review sites.

In Summary

Take it one step at at time. Don't rush, practice, & perfect the process.

Reach out to me w/ q's that you have as you get it set up for your business.

Outcome: SEO made easy. A system you can run for multiple websites.

Action Steps

  1. Bookmark this SEO Strategy guide.

  2. Schedule 2 hours in your calendar to focus on building your SEO strategy.

Baby steps.

See ya next week,

Connor

Whenever you’re ready, here’s 3 ways I can help you:

1. My SEO Course: Launching in Q4 2023. Stay tuned for updates.

2. My SEO Agency: Want help with your SEO? I’m launching an SEO agency, TrioSEO, very soon. Share your info & I’ll reach out with next steps. Get started here.

3. Sponsorship: Promote yourself to 3,000+ SEOs, marketers, & entrepreneurs by sponsoring this newsletter.