52: My SEO Keyword Research Cheat Sheet

6 steps to DOMINATE keyword research

Optimize your business operations with Outsource School. Specializing in helping businesses streamline processes and improve productivity, Outsource School offers the tools and training you need to effectively manage and grow your team. Learn more about Outsource School here.

Hey hey!

Today, let’s simplify the complex world of SEO keyword research.

Here’s my quick cheat sheet to streamline your process and maximize your SEO efforts:

1. Brainstorm like your ICP

Get in your customer's shoes. Write down keywords and phrases they'd search on Google for your biz.

2. Analyze KD & Volume

Search the keywords in Ahrefs or Google Keyword Planner. Find low KD, decent Volume keywords.

3. Look at "Suggested" Keywords

Use Ahrefs "Suggested" features to find more keywords relevant to your main searches.

4. Shortlist 100+ Keywords

Make a Google Sheet. Save the best keywords and include KD & Volume data.

5. Label Intent & Prioritize

Label each keyword with BOFU, MOFU, or TOFU. And add Low, Medium, High priority.

6. Repeat Quarterly

Don't research keywords and think you're done. Repeat every 3 months for more ideas.

---

Keyword research is SEO's backbone.

It drives your content strategy.

What keywords you can rank for.

The traffic you bring to your site.

Don't underestimate it.

And never settle with it.

---

Action Steps

  1. Schedule a keyword brainstorming session this week.

  2. Update your keyword tracking sheet with new data from Ahrefs or Google Keyword Planner.

  3. Plan to review and adjust your keyword strategy at the start of each quarter.

Remember, great SEO starts with great keyword research. Get digging and watch your site climb the ranks.

---

Best,

Connor

Whenever you’re ready, here’s 3 ways I can help you:

1. My SEO Course: “The SEO System” teaches the exact daily, weekly, and monthly SEO processes I’ve used to scale multiple companies to 6, 7, & 8 figures in sales. Available for pre-sale now!

2. TrioSEO: Hire me & my team to create SEO content for your business. We’ll create a comprehensive SEO plan, execute, & keep you updated so your business gains more traffic, leads, & sales. Get a Free SEO Audit.

3. Promote yourself to 75,000+ SEOs, marketers, & entrepreneurs by sponsoring this newsletter and my social channels. (Booked out 1 month). Email me for info.

Connor Gillivan has been building six, seven, and eight-figure businesses for the past 10 years with SEO. It’s my personal mission to create a community and services that help you grow your business by finding more people who would benefit from what you. When I started out, I wanted to make the community an inclusive, welcoming table where everyone can come to get help using high-end SEO strategies to take their businesses to the next level. After several years, and over 3000 combined followers across Facebook and LinkedIn, I will always aim to get better at what I do every single day. In addition, my primary focus is on my relationship with you. This way every time you interact with me, you end up getting ideas that take your project to the next level. I particularly appreciate when my following provides feedback via testimonials, reviews, and comments left on my site or social media accounts. Because with that feedback, I can use it to make your next experience even better than the last. Since I put so much effort into my relationship with you, I hope that any investment in me is exactly the way you hoped it would be. Because by choosing to utilize my services, it’s my promise that I will provide an experience that you will love over and over again. Now, as much as I care about making the world a better and more efficient place for businesses like yours, I also care about your privacy. I’m committed to the right to your privacy and strive to provide a safe and secure user experience. My Privacy Policy, to which you can find a link at the bottom of my website homepage, explains how I collect, store and use personal information, provided by you on my website. It also explains important information that ensures I won’t abuse the information that you provide to me in good faith. By accessing and using my website, you can trust that what you want to be kept private, will be kept private. If at any time you would like to read the Privacy Policy and get a better understanding of your rights and liabilities under the law, feel free to visit my site, find the privacy policy in the footer, and read it. If there is something you are concerned about or wish to get more clarity on, please let me know by replying to this email. The Privacy Policy also informs you of how to notify me to stop using your personal information. If you wish to view my official policies, please visit my official website.

When you visit my website you may provide me with two types of information: personal information you knowingly choose to disclose that is collected on an individual basis and website use information collected on an aggregate basis as you and others browse our website. For example, you may need to provide the following information: your name, website URL information, email address, and home and business phone number.

In addition to providing the foregoing information, if you choose to correspond further with me through email, I may retain the content of your email messages together with your email address and our responses. We provide the same protections for these electronic communications that we employ in the maintenance of information received by mail and telephone. It also explains important information that ensures we won’t abuse the information that you provide to us in good faith. By accessing and using my website, you can trust that what you want to be kept private, will be kept private. If at any time, if you would like, you can read my Privacy Policy and get a better understanding of your rights and liabilities under the law. Feel free to visit the site, find the Privacy Policy in the footer and read it. If there is something you are concerned about or wish to get more clarity on, please let me know by contacting me by replying to this email. The Privacy Policy also informs you of how to notify me to stop using your personal information. If you wish to view my official policies, please visit my website.